School Alerts
Home / Visual Arts

Visual Arts

Curriculum Vision

To provide every student with the opportunity to be inspired by, and achieve success within the Visual Arts, by becoming creative, confident and independent artists.

Curriculum Intent

  1. To promote cultural literacy and broaden students’ appreciation of Visual Arts in society and within the world of work.
  2. To learn about a range of artists and Art movements to develop cultural understanding and critical analysis skills.
  3. To nurture creative, confident and independent artists who take ownership of their work.
  4. To inspire joy and curiosity in the use of a wide range of materials and techniques, including new technologies.
  5. To learn practical skills to improve proficiency of recording to express personal ideas effectively.
  6. To develop projects from personal ideas and imagination, whilst refining students’ strengths in their chosen techniques.

Curriculum Maps

Please follow this link to view the Curriculum Maps for Visual Arts 2019-20

 

Suggested gallery websites

London Galleries & Museums:   
Tate Britain & Tate Modern Galleries, London www.tate.org.uk
British Museum, London www.britishmuseum.org
Victoria & Albert Museum, London www.vam.ac.uk
National Portrait Gallery, London www.npg.org.uk
National Gallery, London www.nationalgallery.org.uk
The Cube Gallery, London www.cube-gallery.co.uk
The Photographers’ Gallery, London www.thephotographersgallery.org.uk
Hayward Gallery, London www.southbankcentre.co.uk/venues/hayward-gallery
Cambridge Galleries & Museums:   
Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge www.fitzwilliam.cam.ac.uk
Kettles Yard Gallery, Cambridge www.kettlesyard.co.uk
Zoological Museum, Cambridge www.museum.zoo.cam.ac.uk
Museum of Classical Archaeology, Cambridge www.classics.cam.ac.uk\museum
Byard Art, Cambridge www.byardart.co.uk
Cambridge Contemporary Art (CCA), Cambridge www.cambridgegallery.co.uk

 

Cambridge Open Studios (July only) www.camopenstudios.co.uk