School Alerts
Home / KS4 Science

KS4 Science

Qualifications Offered at GCSE

The Science faculty delivers the AQA Separate Sciences (formally known as Triple Science), which consists of three separate GCSEs in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.  In addition, we also run the AQA Combined Science (Trilogy) course (formally known as Double Science), which is worth two GCSEs in Combined Science.

Students studying the Combined Science course will have eight hours of Science taught over a two week cycle.  Two teachers work together to deliver the curriculum and whenever possible, will remain with their class for years 10 and 11.  Separate Science students have thirteen hours of Science taught over a two week cycle.  Separate Science has three teachers, each with a specialism for either Biology, Chemistry or Physics.  The document entitled ‘AQA Courses’ available on this page explains in more detail how the various courses are structured.

AQA Courses